h1

Honestly…

January 26, 2009

I am irresistibly hooked to Wonder Girls. How should I put it? It was almost like love at first sight.

A little over a week ago, our own Jordan messaged me a link that, literally, turned my life upside down (see Day#1, day#2, day#3). It was WG’s performance of “Tell Me.” And being the witty guy he is, he had to choose that song. Not only that, but he chose my favorite thing to watch–live performance. A nearly perfect one, too:

I’ve mentioned to him several times that it’s been too long since I got into any group this quickly. I tried to remember who was the first, and I actually couldn’t think of anybody. The whole K-Pop experience was so new to me, and I strongly felt there is something special about the Wonder Girls, so I think it’s safe to say that they are the first group I fell in love with at first sight. And truly, I was pleasantly surprised by what I found in every aspect of this group:

Music. For me, it’s catchy and dynamic. Definitely a contrast to Japanese Pop.

Voices. Although I’m not too fond of So Hee’s singing voice, I like her rapping voice. Sun Ye’s voice is rounded and moving, Ye Eun’s voice can be both soothing and powerful, Sun Mi’s mid-tone is husky and sexy, while Yoo Bin’s can be deep when she raps but surprisingly comforting when she sings.

Performance. As far as live singing is concerned, they started out pretty steadily. They’ve had their off-days, but most of the time, their performances are nearly perfect. Their dancing wasn’t bad to begin with, but they’ve improved for sure. More together.

The (Wonder) Girls. Their music and performance might have been what sparked my interest initially, but this is what made it for me. This is what appears to me as the most attractive charm of the Wonder Girls–who they are and what they have gone through to get to where they are now. And since I don’t want to regurgitate what is already a wonderfully written article that explains the “Reasons Why We Love  the Wonder Girls,” I am more than happy to link you to it over at Wonder Girls Wonderland.

Looks. One word: Beautiful.

Fan service. Yes yes, I admit I am a sucker for coupling interactions. It’s been made known publicly that there are TWO experts at touching/hugging other members among the Wonder Girls, but I think I can argue three…perhaps even four?

Miscellaneous. These girls are fortunate to have been selected by JYP, and JYP is fortunate to have found the girls. Really and trully, this guy deserves a lot of respect for his passion, all the years of hard work, and every word of wisdom he spoke to the Wonder Girls.

I’m having a great time. Honestly, how could I have ignored Korean music for so long?

-Ines

6 comments

  1. Wooo! As expected, your first blog post on WG is great. =D Now if only more ppl would visit our blog and read it so that your great writing skills don’t go to waste. xD

    *witty*


  2. omg…they’re my favorite too!! I’ve been so stuck on their performance with Big Bang…OMG…I think that performance is one of the best….I still can’t get over how good it is…I’m currently obsessed as well…I watched most of their performances already and I have a few that are my favorites!!


  3. […] [Blogs] PPP55 Breaks Down the Virtues of Wonder Girls Honestly… […]


  4. i’m not a fan of wonder girls and i have seen them performing live when they first debut and i thought this posted video is a lot better than i have seen from their early days. they would surely improve a lot in the future.


  5. @Jordan- Iya iya, thank you very much! Still as witty as ever. =p

    @missopm- Thanks for commenting! Glad you like WG, too! :) I have to agree with you–their perf with BB is a must-watch. Hope you’ll continue to support them~

    @renaye- Thanks for commenting! It’s cool that you have seen them performing live before, and it’s even greater to hear that you do see their improvement overtime. :)


  6. wait wait. i mean i watched it live on youtube. i don’t have the luck to watch it ‘live’ but since they got improvement i don’t mind attending their concerts if they ever have one in malaysia because i bet their concert would be just in front of my house!



Leave a comment